Presnoy

A little history:

In 1718, according to a document sent to Joly de Fleury the bailiwick of the town of Lorris included Presnoy.

In 1793, the population stood at Presnoy 392 inhabitants. In the eighteenth century, was Presnoy the Diocese of Sens, the Stewardship Orleans, Election of Montargis. The cure had an income of 800 pounds. The Archbishop of Sens had the right to appoint the priest. Policeman Lord of the country was M. de Saint-Phalles.

Then this parish had 400 inhabitants.

In 1869, there were 548 inhabitants in the town and 15 villages, 1 or 2 miles away. Neighboring parishes Auvilliers, Villemoutiers, Chevillon and Chailly.

In 1901, Presnoy had 356 inhabitants, 308 inhabitants in 1911, 229 in 1968 and 147 in 1982. 

History of the castle

Presnoy erected in store in 1842, was once a rich benefit from the Abbey of Saint Benoît, given by Count Elisiard, became a monk of Fleury in the tenth century. The first Lords are known to us and Henri and Aubert of Presnoy, attached to Philippe-Auguste under Knights of the bailiwick of Lorris.

The castle built, they say, by the Sire de Joinville was one of the Lords of Chancy ; it later became the possession of the family of St. Phalles , patroness of the parish.

Sold as national property in 1792, it was bought by Louvet, conventional regicide and author of "Faublus". He died 26 August 1797 at the age of 37 he was buried in the middle of the park only 14 April 1798. In 1874, for an undetermined cause, his body was brought back to be buried in the cemetery of Montargis.

His son, who had not been baptized, madly dissipated its rich heritage and died poor in 1845.

There are other buildings that corner turret and sides of fortification.


 

Church of St Pierre and St Paul

The small church has a Romanesque porch remarkable for the purity of his style. It is preceded by a pretty caquetoir stone and wood covered with a tiled roof. The porch is topped by a row of carved corbels.

She is 25 meters long and 9 meters wide and can hold 300 people.

The cemetery and rectory are at the church.


Walking

·      1 small hiking circuit exist on Presnoy.

·      Discover our township and its countryside.

·      The cover of hikes is on sale at the reception of the Office of Tourism Lorris office.

·      For more information, you can also contact :

COMITE DEPARTEMENTAL DU LOIRET

8 rue Escures, 45000 ORLEANS

Phone: 02 38 78 04 04 - Fax: 02 38 77 04 12

Hiking cyclotouristic

·      4 hiking trails exist in the Canton of Lorris.

·      The forms can be collected from the Tourist Office of Lorris

Hiking Equestrian

·      For those who love horse riding and nature, several possible routes will give you access to the Canton of Lorris in the vast forest of Orleans (massif de Lorris), area ponds and channel Orleans.

·      The Orléans Forest - Massif de Lorris route

·      From Ouzouer-sur-Loire to Lorris (2 days) 
The third largest massif in the Orléans forest is a region closely associated with the history of the Resistance. It is also known as the home of the osprey, the “fish eagle”. For more information :

COMITE DEPARTEMENTAL DE TOURISME EQUESTRE

Tel. 02.38.84.67.60 or 06 10 28 22 60

Email: cdte45@laposte.net